2021 MLB playoffs: Bracket, postseason baseball schedule as Yankees, Red Sox clinch final spots

CBS Sports

The 2021 Major League Baseball postseason field is set. This year’s playoffs mark a go back to some sense of normalcy for the sport. Gone are the neutral websites, the fanless video games, and the 16-team format; the principles of home-field benefit and sellouts are back, therefore is the 10-team field. For a suggestion on how the rounds usually work, here’s a fast refresher:

  • Wild Card Game: winner advances
  • Division Series (2 per league): best-of-five series
  • Championship Series: best-of-seven series
  • World Series: best-of-seven series

The Yankees and Red Sox clinched the last 2 areas in the playoff field on Sunday, warding off the Blue Jays and Mariners and rejecting fans the turmoil of a Game 163 tiebreaker on Monday. The Giants likewise clinched the NL West on the routine season’s last day, sending out the Dodgers to the NL Wild Card Game while doing so.

So what does the MLB playoff bracket appear like? Below you’ll discover the schedule and the outcomes for all the rounds as they play out, starting with the Wild Card Game, extending through the League Division and Championship Series, and concluding with — what else — the 2021 World Series.

2021 MLB playoff bracket


CBS Sports

2021 MLB postseason schedule

Wild Card Games (single removal)

DATE MATCH START TIME (ET) TELEVISION

Tues., Oct 5

Yankees at Red sox (AL)

8:08 p.m.

ESPN

Weds., Oct 6

Cardinals at Dodgers (NL)

8:10 p.m.

TBS

League Division Series (best-of-five)

DATE SERIES/GAME MATCH START TIME (ET) TELEVISION

Thurs., Oct. 7

ALDS A Game 1

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLBN

ALDS B Game 1

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLBN

Fri., Oct. 8

ALDS A Game 2

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLBN

ALDS B Game 2

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLBN

NLDS A Game 1

TBD

TBA

TBS

NLDS B Game 1

TBD

TBA

TBS

Sat., Oct. 9

NLDS A Game 2

TBD

TBA

TBS

NLDS B Game 2

TBD

TBA

TBS

Sun., Oct. 10

ALDS A Game 3

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLB

ALDS B Game 3

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLB

Mon., Oct. 11

ALDS A Game 4 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLBN

ALDS B Game 4 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

FS1 or MLBN

NLDS A Game 3

TBD

TBA

TBS

NLDS B Game 3

TBD

TBA

TBS

Tues., Oct. 12

NLDS A Game 4 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

NLDS B Game 4 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

Weds., Oct. 13

ALDS A Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

FS1

ALDS B Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

FS1

Thurs., Oct 14

NLDS A Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

NLDS B Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

League Championship Series (best-of-seven)

DATE SERIES/GAME MATCH START TIME (ET) TELEVISION

Fri., Oct. 15

ALCS Game 1

TBD

TBA

Fox

Sat., Oct. 16

ALCS Game 2

TBD

TBA

Fox or FS1

NLCS Game 1

TBD

TBA

TBS

Sun., Oct. 17

NLCS Game 2

TBD

TBA

TBS

Mon., Oct. 18

ALCS Game 3

TBD

TBA

FS1

Tues., Oct. 19

ALCS Game 4

TBD

TBA

FS1

NLCS Game 3

TBD

TBA

TBS

Weds., Oct. 20

ALCS Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

FS1

NLCS Game 4

TBD

TBA

TBS

Thurs., Oct. 21

NLCS Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

Fri., Oct. 22

ALCS Game 6 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

Sat., Oct. 23

ALCS Game 7 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

Fox or FS1

NLCS Game 6 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

Sun., Oct. 24

NLCS Game 7 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

TBS

World Series (best-of-seven)

DATE VIDEO GAME MATCH START TIME (ET) TELEVISION

Tues., Oct. 26

Game 1

TBD

TBA

Fox

Weds., Oct. 27

Game 2

TBD

TBA

Fox

Fri., Oct. 29

Game 3

TBD

TBA

Fox

Sat., Oct. 30

Game 4

TBD

TBA

Fox

Sun., Oct. 31

Game 5 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

Fox

Tues., Nov. 2

Game 6 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

Fox

Weds., Nov. 3

Game 7 (if nec.)

TBD

TBA

Fox



Patriots get a taste of Tom Brady’s propensity for winning; Bucs QB discovers method to triumph in spite of so-so efficiency

Previous article

Atletico Madrid end up being the most recent club to reveal interest in Chelsea transfer raid

Next article

You may also like

More in Baseball

Comments

Comments are closed.