Baseball Hall of Fame results: Fred McGriff voted in by Veterans Committee; Barry Bonds falls short

The National Baseball Hall of Fame will invite a minimum of one brand-new member in 2023. Sunday night the Hall of Fame’s Contemporary Era Committee revealed it has actually voted Fred McGriff into Cooperstown. He got a complete slate of 16 votes from the 16-person committee. McGriff was the only one of 8 gamers on the Contemporary Era tally to make it on Sunday. Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling disappointed the twelve votes required for induction.

Here are the complete ballot outcomes, thanks to the Hall:

  • 16 votes: McGriff
  • 8 votes: Don Mattingly
  • 7 votes: Curt Schilling
  • 6 votes: Dale Murphy
  • Fewer than 4 votes: Albert Belle, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Rafael Palmeiro 

McGriff invested the optimum ten years on the BBWAA’s Hall of Fame tally from 2010-19 and peaked at 39.8 percent of the vote in 2019. Seveny-5 percent is required for induction. This was his very first time appearing on among the Hall of Fame’s committee tallies, which are planned to examine workers not voted into Cooperstown by the BBWAA.

A profession .284/.377/.509 player, McGriff bet 6 groups (Braves, Blue Jays, Cubs, Devil Rays, Dodgers, Padres) in parts of 19 MLB seasons from 1986-2004. Originally a Yankees draft choice in 1981, McGriff was traded to Toronto as a small leaguer in the Mike Morgan/Dale Murray swap in Dec. 1982. He is a five-time All-Star and he got MVP votes in 9 various seasons.

McGriff retired with 493 profession crowning achievement, connected with Lou Gehrig for the most in history amongst gamers not in the 500 crowning achievement club. He was very long lasting throughout his profession — McGriff balanced 149 video games a year from 1988-2002 — and the 1994-95 gamers’ strike most likely expense him a chance at 500 homers. The strike cut 66 overall video games of Atlanta’s schedule those 2 years, McGriff’s age 30-31 seasons. He remained in his prime and he punched 61 homers in 257 video games those 2 seasons.

Only 9 of the 28 gamers ahead of McGriff on the all-time crowning achievement list are not in the Hall of Fame. Two are active (Miguel Cabrera and Albert Pujols) and will be very first tally Hall of Famers as quickly as they’re qualified. The other 7 have actually been stayed out due to performance-enhancing drug ties or suspicions: Bonds, Mark McGwire, Rafael Palmeiro, Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodriguez, Gary Sheffield, and Sammy Sosa.

McGriff won a World Series champion ring with the 1995 Braves and he was a dominant postseason entertainer: .303/.385/.532 with 10 crowning achievement in 50 profession postseason video games. He is the 5th member of that 1995 Braves group to be voted into the Hall of Fame, signing up with Tom Glavine, Chipper Jones, Greg Maddux, and John Smoltz.

Here is the 16-person committee that enacted McGriff (note: Chipper Jones was changed by Arizona Diamondbacks executive Derrick Hall after he was not able to take part due to disease):

  • Hall of Famers: Greg Maddux, Jack Morris, Ryne Sandberg, Lee Smith, Frank Thomas, Alan Trammell
  • Executives: Paul Beeston, Theo Epstein, Derrick Hall, Arte Moreno, Kim Ng, Dave St. Peter, Kenny Williams
  • Media: Steve Hirdt, LaVelle Neal, Susan Slusser

The committee consists of 2 of McGriff’s previous colleagues (Jones and Maddux), an executive who had McGriff on his group (Beeston), and numerous Hall of Famers who were likewise outspoken versus performance-enhancing drugs and/or stopped working to enter Cooperstown on the BBWAA’s tally (Morris, Smith, Thomas, Trammell).

The Contemporary Era Committee is different from the BBWAA’s Hall of Fame tally and is the existing model of the Veterans Committee. It thinks about gamers who made their biggest contributions to the video game after 1980. The Contemporary Era Committee will fulfill in Dec. 2023 to think about non-players, then the Classic Era Committee (prior to 1980) will fulfill in Dec. 2024.

There are 28 gamers on this year’s BBWAA Hall of Fame tally. Votes are due by the end of the year and the rest of the 2023 Hall of Fame class will be revealed Jan. 24. Induction weekend is July 21-24 in Cooperstown.

NHL Rumors: Brock Boeser’s representative has approval to speak with other groups about a trade

Previous article

Anthony Davis matches Kobe Bryant, Shaquille O’Neal with historical 55-point decimation of Wizards

Next article

You may also like

More in Baseball


Comments are closed.