Eagles start 8-0 for first time in franchise history; Jalen Hurts captures 11th consecutive win

Getty Images

The Philadelphia Eagles have actually never ever begun 8-0 in the franchise’s 90-year history. That altered Thursday night after their 29-17 success over the Houston Texans, snapping the previous finest start to a season (7-0 in 2004). 

Philadelphia is the 29th group in the Super Bowl period to begin a season 8-0. All 28 previous groups that began 8-0 have actually made the playoffs, which 15 have actually won their championship game and 8 have actually won the Super Bowl — the last being the New Orleans Saints in 2009. Of the last 10 groups that have actually begun 8-0, none have actually won the Super Bowl. Two reached the title video game — the 2015 Carolina Panthers and the 2018 Los Angeles Rams. The finest start to a season in Eagles history is 13-1 in 2004, when Philadelphia reached the Super Bowl.

Jalen Hurts likewise climbed his method up the NFL record books. Hurts is the 3rd quarterback under the age of 25 to begin and win each of his group’s very first 8 video games of a season because 1950 — signing up with Dan Marino (1984) and Jared Goff (2018). He connected Peyton Manning (11 successive wins in 1999) and Dak Prescott (11 in 2016) for the third-longest winning streak by a beginning quarterback under the age of 25 because 1990. The win over the Texans was the 11th straight success for Hurts, which extends the franchise record. 

Next up for Philadelphia is an NFC East video game versus the Washington Commanders on “Monday Night Football.”

Following the Nets’ suspension, Kyrie Irving’s apology is a great primary step — a child action — however a great action

Previous article

Arsenal vs. Zurich rating: Kieran Tierney moves Gunners to leading area in Europa League group

Next article

You may also like

More in Football


Comments are closed.