Panthers clinch first Presidents' Trophy in franchise history

Getty Images

The Florida Panthers clinched the Presidents’ Trophy for the very first time in franchise history as they ended up the 2021-22 routine season with 122 points. Florida made the honor on Thursday after beating the Ottawa Senators 4-0 and having the Colorado Avalanche lose to the Nashville Predators in a shootout.

It likewise was just the 2nd time in franchise history that the Panthers topped the 100-point mark. The Panthers collected 103 points throughout the 2015-16 season.

After being up to the Tampa Bay Lightning in the First Round of the 2021 Stanley Cup Playoffs, the Panthers front workplace ensured they left no stone unturned this time around. At the trade due date, basic supervisor Bill Zito headed out and obtained veteran winger Claude Giroux from the Philadelphia Flyers while likewise including defenseman Ben Chiarot in a trade with the Montreal Canadiens.

Giroux has actually shown to be a strong addition for the Panthers as he’s tape-recorded 3 objectives and 20 helps in 18 video games considering that signing up with the group. The previous Flyers captain has actually been a component on Florida’s leading line together with leading center Aleksander Barkov and fellow winger Carter Verhaeghe.

The Panthers did handle their reasonable share of injuries in the mission to protect the President’s Trophy. Barkov handled an upper-body injury early in the season and was required to be out of the lineup for almost 6 weeks of action. In addition, leading defenseman Aaron Ekblad has actually been out considering that mid-March with a leg injury, however is anticipated to return in the opening round of the postseason.

Florida ends up the routine season with 4 gamers topping the 30-goal plateau and 3 gamers topping the 80-point mark. Winger Jonathan Huberdeau blazed a trail with a team-high 115 points (30 objectives and 85 helps) and is presently is connected with Calgary Flames star Johnny Gaudreau for 2nd in the NHL in points just behind Edmonton Oilers star center Connor McDavid.

The Presidents’ Trophy winner in fact hasn’t been a juggernaut when it concerns success in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Since the 2001-02 season, the league’s leading group has actually just won the Stanley Cup on 3 celebrations. The Detroit Red Wings won the Stanley Cup in 2002 and 2008 after protecting the Presidents’ Trophy while the Chicago Blackhawks achieved the task in 2013.

No Presidents’ Trophy winner has actually appeared in the Stanley Cup Finals considering that the Blackhawks did so in 2013. The Panthers will be seeking to alter that story when the Stanley Cup Playoffs start on May 2.

2000 Guineas Trends | Tips To Help Find The Newmaket Race Winner

Previous article

Beat the Streak Daily Update April 29

Next article

You may also like

More in Hockey


Comments are closed.