Wimbledon 2022 results: Schedule, scores, how to watch, TV channel as Djokovic, Jabeur reach finals

Wimbledon 2022 has actually formally concluded. No. 1 seed and world No. 3 Novak Djokovic made his seventh Wimbledon title after beating Nick Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6 (7-3) on Sunday. On the females’s side, No. 17 seed Elena Rybakina beat Ons Jabeur in the females’s last on Saturday to win her very first Grand Slam champion.

Sunday’s result assisted Djokovic extend his Wimbledon winning streak to 28 successive matches. He now has 21 significant titles, which is simply one prize behind Rafael Nadal’s record. Sunday was likewise his 32nd Grand Slam last and his 8th at the All England Club. Meanwhile, Kyrgios was contending in his very first Grand Slam last. Although the 27-year-old lost, Kyrgios is still among just 5 gamers with a winning record versus Djokovic at 2-1. 

The unseeded Kyrgios reached the last by taking a walkover after his challenger, Rafael Nadal, retired from the semifinal due to the fact that of a stomach injury. Djokovic advanced to the last by removing No. 9 seed Cameron Norrie 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-4, his 2nd successive return win.

Rybakina’s win made her the very first female representing Kazakhstan to win a significant competition. She was born in Russia — and still resides in Moscow — however changed her tennis representation to Kazakhstan in 2018 when the country’s tennis federation provided her more assistance than she discovered in her house nation. Jabeur, on the other hand, was the very first Arab female and African-born gamer to reach a Grand Slam last. 

Ladies No. 1 seed Iga Swiatek saw her wining streak pertained to an end with a 3rd round loss to Alizé Cornet. The world No. 1 had actually won 37 straight matches and the previous 6 competitions she’s gotten in, consisting of wins at Qatar, Indian Wells, Miami, Stuttgart, Rome and the French Open at Roland Garros. Cornet’s win put her in the 4th round at Wimbledon for the very first time because 2014. 

Serena Williams took the court for the very first time because the 2021 installation of Wimbledon on June 28. She had actually not played because last June, when she suffered a hamstring injury throughout her opening-round match at the All England Club. Williams’ match versus Harmony Tan was a close one, however Tan left as the winner by going 7-5, 1-6, 7-6 (10-7) after 3 hours and 11 minutes on the court. Williams needed to retire in the preliminary at the All England Club in 2015 — her only first-round exit prior to this year — however this is the very first time she’s lost a match in the preliminary at Wimbledon and simply the 2nd time she’s been beaten on the court in the preliminary of a Grand Slam (2012 French Open).

Men’s last

  • No. 1 Novak Djokovic def. Nick Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6 (7-3) 

Women’s last

  • No. 17 Elena Rybakina def. No. 3 Ons Jabeur 3-6, 6-2, 6-2

Men’s and females’s Wimbledon draw

Men’s songs seeding

  1. Novak Djokovic
  2. Rafael Nadal
  3. Casper Ruud
  4. Stefanos Tsitsipas
  5. Carlos Alcaraz
  6. Felix Auger-Aliassime
  7. Hurbert Hurkacz
  8. Matteo Berrettini
  9. Cameron Norrie
  10. Jannik Sinner
  11. Taylor Fritz
  12. Diego Schwartzman
  13. Denis Shapovalov
  14. Marin Cilic
  15. Reilly Opelka
  16. Pablo Carreno Busta
  17. Roberto Bautista Agut
  18. Grigor Dimitrov
  19. Gael Monfils
  20. Alex De Minaur
  21. John Isner
  22. Botic van de Zandschulp
  23. Nikoloz Basilashvili
  24. Frances Tiafoe
  25. Holger Rune
  26. Miomir Kecmanovic
  27. Filip Krajinovic
  28. Lorenzo Sonego
  29. Daniel Evans
  30. Jenson Brooksby
  31. Tommy Paul
  32. Sebastian Baez

Women’s songs seeding

  1. Iga Swiatek
  2. Anett Kontaveit
  3. Ons Jabeur
  4. Paula Badosa
  5. Maria Sakkari
  6. Karolina Pliskova
  7. Danielle Collins
  8. Jessica Pegula
  9. Garbine Muguruza
  10. Emma Raducanu
  11. Coco Gauff
  12. Jelena Ostapenko 
  13. Barbora Krejcikova
  14. Belinda Bencic
  15. Angelique Kerber
  16. Simona Halep
  17. Elena Rybakina
  18. Jil Teichmann
  19. Madison Keys
  20. Amanda Anisimova
  21. Camila Giorgi
  22. Martina Trevisan
  23. Beatriz Haddad Maia
  24. Elise Mertens
  25. Petra Kvitova
  26. Sorana Cirstea
  27. Yulia Putintseva
  28. Alison Riske
  29. Anhelina Kalinina
  30. Shelby Rogers
  31. Kaia Kanepi
  32. Sara Sorribes Tormo

How to view 2022 Wimbledon

  • Dates: June 27 – July 10
  • Time: Varies
  • Location:  London, England
  • TELEVISION: NBC, Tennis Channel
  • Stream:  fuboTV (shot for totally free)

WNBA: 3-point participant t-shirts offered, consisting of one for Quigley!

Previous article

Chandavian Bradley devotes to Tennessee

Next article

You may also like

More in Tennis


Comments are closed.